How I Taught My Grandmother To Read and Other Stories- Sudha Murty

Genre: Fictional Narrative

This was the first book written by Sudha Murty that I read. I love this book a lot and go back and read it nearly every year. This book has been very inspirational for me and it a really nice book to read. This book contains 25 short stories and the main story in the book is How I Taught My Grandmother To Read. This is the author’s true story and is written really well. The author has even picked out anecdotes from her own life to present to the readers that shows them the forgotten values of life.

How I Taught My Grandmother To Read and Other Stories is filled with heart touching tales varying from one kind of story to another. The main story talks about how the grandmother of the then twelve-year-old  Sudha asks Sudha to teach her alphabets. Sudha Murty also talks about her encounter with J.R.D. Tata in this book.

Each of the twenty-five stories in the book provides some inspiration to its readers. The stories are presented in an effortless and humorous fashion. Sudha Murty recounts tales from her life in a simple yet engrossing manner. The stories range from her childhood to her life as a teacher and a mother. The book shows readers how her mother’s constant advice on saving money actually helped Sudha when she had to start a company with her husband. It also features a story where the protagonist takes a train ride with the President. 

How_I_Taught_My_Grandmother_to_Read_and_Other_Stories

 

Leave a Reply

